Wednesday, December 6, 2023
A- A A+



SPAP forum

The SPAP forum provides a common platform for former and present members of the School of Pure & Applied Physics, Mahatma Gandhi University, Kottayam. Many of the former students of the school are actively pursuing careers in prominent institutions in India and abroad. The activities of the forum, which has started in 1997, include creating a stage for its members to interact with eminent persons, to share ideas and work together in academic and other areas. Those who had worked for the early development of the School have a lot of experience to share through the forum, which acts as a binding force among them. The forum also plays a major role in non-academic activities in the school. The last annual meeting of the forum was held on February 2019


Social Discussion forum

Discussion forum google Group: Click Here 


The 20th Annual  General General body meeting of the SPAP forum to be held on Friday 8 February 2019.

List of few eminent Alumni

Dr Ajith Parameshwaran (2006) Recently in the News for the detection of gravitational waves. Breakthrough 1 million US$ Prize in Fundamental Physics awarded to the LIGO Team for detection of gravitational waves. Currently Associate Professor,International Centre for Theoretical Sciences TIFR, Bengaluru
Dr Rahul R Nair – (2005) Was in the Research team of Prof Andre Geim who won the Nobel Prize in Physics for work with Graphene.  He has been awarded the Moseley Medal & Prize for Early Career Researchers by the Institute of Physics.  He is now working as  Professor, Condensed Matter Physics Group, University of   Manchester and a Royal Society University Research Fellow.
Mrs Alice J – PILOT in the Piedmont Airlines Inc. USA
Dr Gin Jose  ( 2000)  former Scholar of this department- now working as Professor in the Faculty of Engineering at the University of Leeds, developed a small device with low-powered lasers to measure blood glucose levels without penetrating the skin. It could give people a simpler, pain-free alternative to finger pricking.
Prof. P. P. Pradyumnan (1993-2000). Currently working as Professor (former HOD ), Dept. of Physics, University of Calicut, Kerala. He has over 25 years research experience in Solid State Physics and Materials science.
Dr Vinu Vikram (2011)  in the International News – Leader of the team at the Argonne National Laboratory which generated the Dark Matter Map of the Universe – currently at Kavli Institute for Cosmological Physics as KICP Associate Fellow
Dr Naslim Neelamkodan (2007) in the News for the discovery of the most Zirconium rich Star till date. Fellow at EACOA  Academia Sinica Institute of Astronomy and Astrophysics (ASIAA). Presently at Central Univesity of Hyderabad as Assistant Professor
Dr K N Narayanan Unni – (2000) Director, Photochemistry Laboratory NIIST (CSIR) Trivandrum


Dr Ajith Kumar G (1998)  Professor at Texas University, USA . He has been awarded SPIE Green Photonic Award in 2012
Joji Joykutty  (2003) Intellectual Property (IP) Analyst at General Electric Global Research Center in Bangalore


Dr C P Anil Kumar (2001) Working as a Associate Professor at Indian Institute of Geomagnetism Tirunelveli


Dr. Sabeena M former M.Sc student of this department joined at Physics Department, CUSAT after receiving her PhD degree from Homi Bhabha National Institute (HBNI), Mumbai.
Dr Sankaranarayanan Potty  (1998) Working as scientist at CMET Thrissur

Other Alumni

  1. Dr Naslim Neelankodan , Assistant Professor,  Department of Physics, Central University Hyderabad
  2. Dr Jugan J, Entrepreneur, Dianova Medical Laboratory and Head, Radiology Department, School of Medical Education,  CPAS
  3. Mary Varugheese, Assistant Professor, St Stephens College, Pathanapuram
  4. Dr Sabeena M  Assistant Professor, Department of Physics, CUSAT, Cochin
  5. Dr Surendran K P , Scientist, NIST Trivandrum
  6. Dr. K N Narayanan Unni  Scientist,  NIST, Trivandrum
  7. Dr. Riju C Issac, Associate Professor, CUSAT, Kerala
  8. Amrutha K Adiyodi, Assistant Professor, NSS College Mattannur
  9. Leesal Iype,  Assistant Professor,  Higher college of Technology, University of Sharjah
  10. Dr Ann Mary, Assistant Professor, St Thomas College, Thrissur
  11. Dr Sindhu Kartha, Assistant Professor , N S S College, Neeramankara,  Trivandrum
  12. Dr  Noble P Abraham, Assistant Professor, Marthoma College, Tiruvalla
  13. Dr Mathew K Varghesee, Assistant Professor, Pavanathma College, Murickassery
  14. Dr Joshi Jose, Assistant Professor, SB College, Changanassery
  15. Dr Parthibha Vasudevan,  Assistant Professor,  St Thomas College, Kozhenchery
  16. Dr Sindhu S, Assistant Professor, Birla Institute of Technology, Bangalore
  17. Dr Gijo Jose,  Assistant Professor, SB College, Changanassery
  18. Dr Raneesh Balakrishnan,  Assistant Professor, Catholicate College, Pathanamthitta
  19. Raji Koshy, Assistant Professor, Catholicate College, Pathanamthitta
  20. Dr. Karthika S, Assistant Professor, Catholicate College, Pathanamthitta
  21. Dr Ann Marry, Assistant Professor, St Thomas College, Trissur
  22. Dr Vinu Vadakkel,  Assistant Professor, St Aloysius College, Edathua
  23. Dr Nisha S Panicker, Assistant Professor, DB College, Parumala
  24. Dr Ajith Kumar G,  Research  Professor, University of Texas
  25. Rani George, Assistant Professor,  St Aloysius College, Edathua
  26. Lakshmi Vijayan, Assistant Professor,  St Aloysius college, Edathua
  27. Dr Seema R,  Assistant Professor,  CMS College, Kottayam
  28. Dr Arun Kumar K V, Assistant Professor,  CMS College, Kottayam
  29. Dr. Misha Hari, Assistant Professor ,Baselius College ,Kottayam
  30. Dr Ambika D, Assistant Professor,  Baselius College, Kottayam
  31. M K Suresh,  Assistant Professor, St Thomas College, Ranni
  32. Dr Sudheesh K,  Assistant Professor, NS S College, Dhanuvachapuram
  33. Seena Sivadas, Assistant Professor, St Stephens College, Pathanapuram
  34. Manju Joseph,  Assistant Professor, Aquinos College, Cochin
  35. Augustine Edakkara, Assistant Professor, St Thomas College, Pala
  36. Febin Mathew,  Assistant Professor, St Mary’s College, Sultan Battery
  37. Dr Sunil K,  Assistant Professor, Calicut University
  38. Kavitha Sadan,  Assistant Professor, Govt College, Nattakam
  39. Josely Cyraic , Assistant Professor, Govt College, Kattapana
  40. Dr Jayachandran,  Assistant Professor, Maharajas College, Ernakulam
  41. Kalajanan,  Assistant Professor, Sri Vyasa College, Vadakkanchery
  42. Savithri Devi, Assistant Professor, Govt College, Kasargod
  43. Dr. Lajna P Vijayan, Assistant Professor, D B College, Thalayolapparmbu
  44. Dr Angel Marry, Assistant Professor, Marthoma College, Thiruvalla
  45. Dr Manjusha,  Assistant Professor, Cochin College,  Cochin
  46. Dr Anit Elizebeth,  Assistant Professor, K G College, Pampady
  47. Tojomon Mathew, Assistant Professor, Govt College, Manimalakkunnu
  48. Dr Tintu R, Assistant Professor, TKMM College, Nangairkulangara
  49. Dr Anu Philiph, Assistant Professor, Bharath Matha College, Thrikkakra, Kochi
  50. Dr Marykkutty James, Assistant Professor, St  Stephens college, Ranni
  51. Dr Vimal G, Assistant Professor, S D College, Kanjirappally
  52. Mss Smitha,  Assistant Professor, S D College, Kanjirappally
  53. Archana K V, Scientific Officer, BARC, Bombay
  54. Dr. Manesh Michle, Bharath Matha College, Thrikkakra, Kochi
  55. Dr. Riju K Thomas, Bharath Matha College, Thrikkakra, Kochi
  56. Archana M,Scientist IGCAR Kalpakkam